E-Mail / Login:


Register now!
Forgot password?

> MAIN > HISTORY > History > W:O:A 2006 > Billing/Bands 2006 > Motörhead 
Skull  Motörhead  Skull


That's the kind of thing you don't see in London every day: early June 2005 saw the long queue in front of the venerable Carling Apollo Hammersmith - formerly known as the Hammersmith Odeon and venue of many legendary live shows - stretch right to the tube station on the other side of the road. What was going on? Motörhead had invited their fans to their 30th anniversary party, and over 5,000 of them accepted. Their number would have been even greater had the powers that be in the British capital not rigorously limited the capacity of the illustrious venue. Loved by their fans, respected by the press due to the personal integrity of the three band members, Lemmy Kilmister (vocals, bass), Phil Campbell (guitar) and Mikkey Dee (drums), Motörhead are experiencing their seventh or eighth spring in the 30th year of their existence and continue to be as generous as ever: November 11, 2005, will see the re-release of their current studio album, Inferno, as a 30th Anniversary edition, including a lavish bonus DVD, featuring haunting live cuts from their London show plus additional surprises.

Inferno (30th Anniversary) consists of not only the regular studio album with twelve killer tracks (such as 'Year Of The Wolf', 'In The Black', 'Smiling Like A Killer' or the two masterpieces, 'Terminal Show' and 'Down On Me' with guitar icon Steve Vai as guest musician), but will be re-released during their extensive European tour in a special cardboard sleeve with the '30 Years Motörhead' logo, wrapped additionally in sensational Motörhead gift paper. Part of this special strictly limited collectors' edition is a bonus DVD featuring six tracks from the London birthday show, plus the brand-new 'Whorehouse Blues' video clip, a making-of with footage from the video shoot, and the 65-minute documentary '30 Years: Born To Lose - Live To Win', including interviews with Lemmy, Phil Campbell and Mikkey Dee, but also former Motörhead members Philthy 'Animal' Taylor and Fast Eddie Clarke. Fans watch out: this is the only authorized 30th anniversary edition and documents impressively that Motörhead mark 2005 are not only a cult act but also without doubt one of the greatest rock bands of all time!

Former Hawkwind roadie/bassist Lemmy Kilmister formed the band, Bastards, in 1975, renaming them Motörhead soon afterwards. The first line-up of any consequence consisted of Lemmy (bass, vocals), Fast Eddie Clarke (guitar) and Phil Taylor (drums). The press initially hated Motörhead, labelling them "the world's worst band" following the release of their debut album in 1975. The attitude of the press was to change a mere two years later: "They know they're animals, and they don't pretend to be anything else. Considering there are so many ugly frogs in heavy metal who think they're God's gift to womankind, these Quasimodos even seem charming in a way," a German music magazine noted in 1977. The title song from their album, Ace Of Spades (1980), became one of Motörhead's greatest classics, followed by another highlight that has gone down in the history of rock music: No Sleep ´Till Hammersmith, featuring live recordings from the legendary Hammersmith Odeon. Guitarist Eddie Clarke left in autumn 1982 due to dissatisfaction with the band's commercial development. He was replaced by former Thin Lizzy guitarst Brian Robertson, who went on to cause a certain amount of tension. Robertson acted like a spoilt diva - an attitude that was bound to lead to trouble with Lemmy. "Robertson never wanted to fit in with Motörhead but saw himself as 'Brian Robertson featuring Motörhead Artists'," Lemmy complained. "I have no time for that sort of thing, I want a functioning band." Robertson bid his farewells in 1983 following the release of Another Perfect Day and was substituted by Phil Campbell and Michael Burston, a.k.a. Würzel. The early Nineties saw the Motörhead flagship go into a spin. The band signed their first major deal and tried to tone down their previously unbridled power rock with a view to radio compatibility. Their 1991 release 1916 still pleased the group's fans, while MARCH ÖR DIE, out one year later, was a flop. But Motörhead proved indestructible, soon winning back their fans' affections. Since Würzel's departure in 1995, Motörhead, consisting of Lemmy, drummer Mikkey Dee and guitarist Phil Campbell, have been operating as a trio again, the press attesting that the band continues to revitalize the classic three-man tradition, and has come up with one blazing rock album after the other. Since the end of the Nineties, the band has been producing one blazing rock album after the other. The fantastic studio recordings, We Are Motörhead (2000), Hammered (2002) and Inferno (2004), plus the brilliant live cuts, Everything Louder Than Everything Else (1999) and Live At Brixton (2003), in between the first DVD Boneshaker (2001) and its successor, the double DVD Stage Fright, allow but one conclusion: the fan edition Inferno (30th Anniversay) documents that this band has never been more present.

to top  to top 


On Parole 
Ace Of Spades 
Iron Fist 
Another Perfect Day 
Rock 'N' Roll 
March Or Die 
Overnight Sensation 
Snake Bite Love 
We Are Motörhead 

to top  to top 


to top  to top 


to top  to top 

Bookmark and Share

Contact   Data Protection Regulations   Imprint   
© 2005...2014 by ICS Festival Service GmbH / Design - Hosting by MM - last update: 02.03.2006